Summer Information

Baseball

Summer baseball for players (Grades 9-12) runs from June 11-July 20.  Incoming baseball players are encouraged to attend at least one session of camp. The Wolverine Baseball Camp will take place July 22-26 at O'Malley Family Field. Travel baseball opportunities are available throughout the summer for middle school players (Grades 7-8). Anyone interested in playing baseball next year should contact Coach Matt LaCour immediately at (818) 487-6679 or mlacour@hw.com.


Basketball (Boys)

Summer practice for new and returning players (grades 9-12) begins June 10 at the upper school. Three sessions of the Wolverine Basketball Camp will take place in June. For more information go to: http://www.hw.com/summerprograms/WolverineSportsCamps.aspx 

Summer leagues and tournaments continue through the month of July.  For more information contact Greg Hilliard at (818) 487-6684 or.

Basketball (Girls)

New and returning 7th and 8th graders are encouraged to attend the summer camp July 22-25. For more information go to:  http://www.hw.com/summerprograms/WolverineSportsCamps.aspx 

Summer practice for new and returning high school players (grades 9-12) begins June 10. For more information, contact Coach Melissa Hearlihy at (818) 487-6681 or mhearlihy@hw.com

Cross Country

Summer practice for new and returning runners in grades 9-12 begins July 8th.  Fall practice will begin in late August. If you have any questions, please contact Coach Jonas Koolsbergen at (310) 288-3309 or jkoolsbergen@hw.com.

Cheerleading The Wolverine Cheerleading Camp will take place June 24-27. Contact Program Head Octavia Ellison at oellison@hw.com for more information.
Equestrian

Students with a desire to compete in hunter/jumper/equitation and/or dressage at any level are invited to ride for Harvard-Westlake.  There are no tryouts for this team. Requirements include access to a horse and a willingness to partake in four IEL shows per year.  For details about the league please go to www.theiel.com. A MANDATORY parent/rider meeting will be held in the September at the upper school.  Please register your intent to ride with Ms. Christa Choe at mchoe@mednet.ucla.edu.

Fencing

The summer fencing program is for beginning students who wish to discover the sport of fencing. No experience is necessary and all equipment is provided. Wear a t-shirt, warm-up pants, and athletic shoes. The class is taught by Fencing Master Ted Katzoff. Please contact him  at (310) 529-6837 or tkatzoff@hw.com.

Field Hockey

Incoming field hockey players should take advantage of our summer camp August 5-9 at Sprague Field on the Middle School campus. Team selections will be August 15-17 from 5:30-8:00 pm at the Upper School. Middle school practice begins in the spring. Feel free to contact Coach Erin Creznic at (310) 288-3257 or ecreznic@hw.com if you have any questions. 

Football

Summer practice for new and returning high school players (grades 9-12) begins July 1st at the upper school.  Starting after the July 4th holiday, practices will be on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 8:00-12:00. Middle school players (grades 7-8) are encouraged to attend the Wolverine Football Camp June 17-20th at the upper school. If you have any questions, contact Head Football Coach Scot Ruggles at sruggles@hw.com, or 818-487-5429.

Golf (Boys)

Boys planning to golf on the JV or Varsity teams are encouraged to play throughout the summer. There are junior programs, tournaments, and lessons available throughout Southern California. Please contact Coach Tony Kewal at tkewal@hw.com if you have any questions

Golf (Girls)

Girls interested in playing golf are encouraged to work on their game during the summer through golf camps, personal instruction and junior tournaments. Tryouts will be held in early August. Contact Coach Marge Chamberlain at mchamberlain@hw.com for additional information on summer schedules and practices. 

Lacrosse

Harvard-Westlake will be offering a summer camp for 5-12th graders from June 24th-June 27th.  All current lacrosse players should be active in summer recreational lacrosse or other Harvard-Westlake sports. If you have any questions, feel free to contact Coach Alex Weber at aweber@hw.com

Soccer (Boys)

Incoming and returning middle school soccer players are encouraged to attend one or both of the Wolverine Soccer summer camp sessions, June 17-21 or July 22-26.  For more information go to http://www.hw.com/summerprograms/WolverineSportsCamps.aspx or contact Coach Lucas Bongarra at lbongarra@hw.com.

Soccer (Girls)

Girls soccer players are encouraged to attend the Wolverine Soccer summer camp session.  The summer camp will run from July 22-25. For more information go to: http://www.hw.com/summerprograms/WolverineSportsCamps.aspx Anyone interested in playing girls' soccer next year should contact Coach Richard Simms at rsimms@hw.com.

Softball

Incoming and returning players are encouraged to attend at least one summer softball camp or play in a summer league. Fall training classes for 9th – 12th graders begin when school resumes in September. All softball players will be required to attend and participate in our Fall program, unless they are playing on another Harvard-Westlake team. If you have any questions contact Coach Joe Aranda at (818) 439-1747 or jaranda@hw.com or Mr. Terry Elledge at (818) 487-6678 or telledge@hw.com

Swimming & Diving

Swimmers planning to swim on the JV or Varsity teams in 2013-14 are encouraged to swim throughout the summer. Summer lifting sessions will take place starting June 10th on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays at 7:15 AM with a 60 minute pool workout to follow. The Wolverine Swimming Camp will take place on August 12-15 in the Copses Family Pool on the HW Upper School campus. In addition, there are camps and clubs throughout Southern California. Contact Coach Jon Carroll at jcarroll@hw.com or at 818-481-4845 for recommendations. Fall training classes for high school students begin when school resumes. The middle school swim season will start August 28th.

Tennis (Boys)

Students interested in playing tennis should play during the summer in camps and tournaments. The Wolverine Tennis Camp will take place June 17-20 at the LA Valley College courts.The school season begins in February. If you have any questions, please contact Coach Chris Simpson at csimpson@hw.com.

Tennis (Girls)

Students interested in playing tennis should play during the summer in camps and tournaments. The Wolverine Tennis Camp will take place June 17-20 at the LA Valley College courts. The school season begins in September. If you have any questions, please contact Coach Chris Simpson at csimpson@hw.com.

Track & Field

Summer workouts (grades 9-12) will be held throughout the summer.  Incoming 7th graders and returning 8th graders are encouraged to attend the Track and Field and Speed camps. For more information on these camps http://www.hw.com/summerprograms/WolverineSportsCamps.aspx Athletes are encouraged to participate in club track or all-comers meets. Contact Coach Jonas Koolsbergen with any questions about the track program at (310) 288-3309 or jkoolsbergen@hw.com

Volleyball (Boys)

Incoming and returning 7th and 8th graders interested in playing volleyball next spring are encouraged to play beach volleyball over the summer and are encouraged to attend the summer camp August 13-15 from 2pm – 6:30pm. Training for high school students (grades 9-12) begins in January. The middle school season begins in February. If you have any questions, please contact Coach Adam Black at (818) 487-6680 or ablack@hw.com.

Volleyball (Girls)

Incoming 7th, 8th, and 9th graders are encouraged to attend the Wolverine Volleyball camp session to be held August 12-16 from 2:00 – 6:30pm.  The team selection process for the freshman, junior varsity, and varsity teams begins July 29th and will continue until rosters have been completed.  The team selection process for 7th and 8th graders will begin when school resumes in August.  Anyone interested in playing girls volleyball next year should contact Coach Adam Black at ablack@hw.com or at (818) 487-6680.


Water Polo(Boys)

Summer practice for incoming and returning water polo players will be held throughout the summer. Practice will be at the Harvard-Westlake Upper School Copses Family Pool from June 10th to July 25th. Training will be Monday-Friday from 8-10:45 AM. The Wolverine Water Polo camp will be June 17-21 at the Copses Family Pool.  Any questions please contact Coach Brian Flacks at 818-458-7306 or bflacks@hw.com

Water Polo(Girls)

Summer practice for incoming and returning water polo players will be held throughout the summer. Practice will be at the Harvard-Westlake Upper School Copses Family Pool from June 10th-July 25th. Training will be Monday-Friday from 8-10:45 AM. Any questions please contact Coach Brian Flacks at (818) 458-7306 or bflacks@hw.com

Wrestling

Summer practices are held on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 3:00-5:00. Training class begins when school resumes in September. If you have any questions, please contact Coach Gary Bairos at (213) 841-8770 or gbairos@hw.com