Date: March 18, 2011

Venue: ArcLight Cinerama Dome, 800 seats

Submissions: 170

Guest Speaker: Guillermo del Toro with special guest Jake Gyllenhaal

Red Carpet Host: Jacob Soboroff

Judges: Peter Baxter (Slamdance), James L. Brooks (The Simpsons), Rona Cosgrove (Paramount), Priscilla Nedd Friendly (Pretty Woman), Tim Ryan (Rotten Tomatoes), festival founder Elizabeth Yale

Directors: Nick Lieberman and Jacqueline Sir

Advisers: Cheri Gaulke and Ted Walch

Honey…When Are You Coming Home?, 8:37
Adam Hull, director, Notre Dame High School

How to Disappear Completely, 11:11, Humanitarian Award
Cesar Cervantes, director, Bell High School

I Hurt Too, 3:38
Rayka Zehtabchi, director, University High School, Film Ed Academy

iDate, 2:05
Ben Mullen, director, Culver City High School

In the Quiet Hour, 12:50, Lizzie Award for Acting, Lizzie Award for Best Overall
Max Sokoloff, director, SF Art and Film

Paris is Burning, 2:58
Carolina Vazquez, Olivia Tant, Jake Kolton, and Adrian Lau, directors, Santa Monica High School

Pedestrious, 4:10
Hugo Alvarez, director, Bell High School

Psalm 51, 5:55
Mason Shefa, director, Oakwood School

Saving Private Schmidt, 1:37, Lizzie Award for Directing, Lizzie Award for Cinematography
Elius Kim and Kevin Clark, directors, Capistrano Valley High School, Film Ed Academy

See, 2:27, Lizzie Award for Use of Music, Lizzie Award for Title Design
Molly Cinnamon and Miranda Kasher, directors, Harvard-Westlake Summer Film Camp

Speechless, 4:47
Libby Blood, director, El Dorado High School, Film Ed Academy

Starface, 3:20, Lizzie Award for Sound Design, Lizzie Award for Originality
Chanel Samson, Cassandra Dimas, and Caitie Guttry, directors, Providence High School

Strike Force, 7:30
Vishal Rattanchandani, director, Orange County High School for the Arts

Suffocation, 1:57
Nick Lieberman, Gabe Benjamin, and Jacqueline Sir, directors, Harvard-Westlake School

Sunny Side Up, 6:42, Founders' Award
Mattan Cohen, director, Northwood High School, Film Ed Academy

Texas Tea, 4:10, Festival Directors' Choice
Stefan Ng, director, University High School, Film Ed Academy

The Clock of Life, 1:57
Eric Brownrout & Josh Levin, directors, Calabasas High School
The Forest, 3:11, The Sally Menke Award for Editing*
Rachel Clyde, director, SF Art & Film 

Wangypong. The Movie., 8:18, Lizzie Award for Story/Writing
Harry Keenan, Max Groel & Johnny Frohman, directors, Palisades Charter High School

*In our desire to make visible the role women play in the film industry, we celebrate the career of Sally Menke, who tragically passed away last fall. She edited every Quentin Tarantino film and he called her his "only, truly genuine collaborator." Menke is part of  a grand tradition of female editors that includes Thelma Schoonmaker (Raging Bull), Verna Fields (Jaws), Dede Allen (Bonnie and Clyde), Dana Glauberman (Juno) and Anne Coates (Lawrence of Arabia) among many others.

2011 poster designed by Gabe Benjamin
Chelsea Khakshouri films the red carpet.
"Saving Private Schmidt" directors Elius Kim (left) and Kevin Clark (right), Capistrano Valley High School, FilmEd Academy.
Jacob Soboroff interviews festival founder Liz Yale '04.
Jacob Soboroff interviews guest speaker Guillermo del Toro.
Red carpet staff; Chelsea Khakshouri, Roz Naimi, Jacob Soboroff, Cheri Gaulke, Olivia Chuba, Marka Maberry-Gaulke and Jamie Ember.
Film Festival directors Nick Lieberman and Jacqueline Sir.
Jake Gyllenhaal ' 98 makes a surprise appearance at the end of the show.
2011 Film Festival filmmakers.
Benjamin Morgan of New York Film Academy with "How to Disappear Completely" director Cesar Cervantes from Bell High School.